Holistic mom’s meeting 9/12/11 – Paleo nutrition

September’s meeting featured a guest speaker – Diana Rodgers from Radiance Nutrition in Hamilton. http://www.radiancenutrition.com/

She lives on a farm – and her family runs a CSA at Green Meadows Farm – if Hamilton were a bit closer – I would love to go check them out. But for now – I’m just following on facebook- http://www.facebook.com/pages/Green-Meadows-Farm/96185700552

She said that she had struggled with tummy problems her whole life – and then after discovering she has Celiac – changed her diet and felt great – also – she’s a firm believer in the Paleo diet. The Palio Diet is based on eating like a caveman – meat, eggs, fruit, and some veggies – but no grains. According to Diana – humans shrunk and got sicker after the farming of grains began. Things only got worse after the introduction of  processed foods in the 50’s and 60’s, and don’t even get her started on “high fructose corn syrup” and vegetable oils (they bleach them to get that light yellow color – yuck!)

She also spoke about “leaky gut” syndrome – describing a connection between food allergies or intolerances and much bigger problems like auto-immune issues, and possibly even autism.  She suggested a pretty strict diet for people with auto-immune issues eliminating food that cause the most sensitivities – no dairy, no grains, no legumes, no nightshade family (tomatoes, bell peppers, white potatoes, eggplant). It was pretty interesting and made me think about how many women I know with auto-immune issues – 2 friends from high school have Lupus, 2 friends have MS, a good friend with pretty bad psoriasis, another with Fibromyalgia – way too many women in early 40’s have their bodies turning against them.

I must confess – I sort of 1/2-listened at during this part  – thinking that some of what she was saying made sense – but also that some of it seemed super strict, and that I wasn’t sure I’m willing to try it, and thank goodness it didn’t apply to me.

Of course on Monday I didn’t know that two days later on  Wednesday my doctor would tell me I have an auto-immune disease…….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment